Alliance of Research Universities in Yangtze River Delta established

2019-06-03 10:24:44 source: 浙江大学

At the Development Forum on Yangtze River Delta Integration in Wuhu City, Anhui Province on May 22, the Alliance of Research Universities in Yangtze River Delta, proposed by Zhejiang University and co-initiated by Fudan University, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, Nanjing University and the University of Science and Technology of China, was officially inaugurated.

Present at the agreement-signing ceremony were WU Zhaohui, president of Zhejiang University, JIAO Yang, secretary of the CPC Committee of Fudan University, LV Jian, president of Nanjing University, BAO Xinhe, president of the University of Science and Technology of China and DING Kuiling, vice president of Shanghai Jiao Tong University.

“The Alliance aims at creating an inter-connected, collaborative and sharing platform for higher-tier, higher-level and higher-caliber strategic cooperation, thereby promoting the integrated development of tertiary education in the Yangtze River Delta. Its major missions include setting up a coalition for world-class disciplines, sharing superb higher learning resources, creating a vehicle for major technological innovations, attracting high-level innovation talents and establishing a cooperation network for international universities,” said WU Zhaohui.

“As the Alliance’s secretariat, ZJU will play a vital role in two dimensions. First, it will connect various circles and promote cross-border development with the concerted efforts of multiple forces. Second, it will offer a comprehensive service to members so as to attain a win-win outcome for the integrated development of the Yangtze River Delta,” added WU Zhaohui.

It is expected that the Alliance will boost the exponential development of the five universities.

read more